The Things You Keep

As I finally cleaned this weekend in preparation for a houseguest, I began to see how much stuff I have that I neither want nor need. Combined with a discussion on minimalism and tips on how to eliminate such clutter, I believe it’s time for a serious purge. It’s been about a year and a half since I’ve done such a thing and I’ve often thought about how much I could live without. Certainly there are collections that could be trimmed down – salt and pepper shakers I’ve decided I don’t like so much after all, stuffed penguins that are only taking up space instead of making me happy, etc.

But this isn’t an everything-must-go situation either. As I take inventory, I notice what can only be thought of as an altar that sits on top of one of my DVD shelves. It started as a place to put a few stones and other metaphysical items. Over time, it has come to hold a far more eclectic collection, including a Bible, a stone phallus from Mexico, and a painting of Inigo Montoya from Princess Bride.

What do these things all have in common? They were all gifted to me by the people who are most precious to me. My beloved grandmother insisted – on her death bed – that I have her Bible. It now sits  under a piece of etched glass that I gave her many years ago that says “I am always with you” and next to her wedding picture from 1938.

The phallus is from my best friend who got it from her sister who got it from another friend I don’t know…the idea is that I am to pass it along to someone else at some point. I even know who I am going to give it to. The painting is from my girlfriend. It landed in its place because I wasn’t sure where else to put it. Now I’m thinking it’s exactly where it belongs.

In the coming weeks, I will no doubt go through and get rid of quite a bit. But these are the things that make me happy and keep those who are dear to me close, even when they aren’t.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment